Tracker › Companies › Bristol Myers Squibb

Did AI cause the Bristol Myers Squibb layoffs?

6 No sign of it. We found no public evidence tying Bristol Myers Squibb's cuts to AI.

6/100
top AI score · 80% interval 4–7
D
evidence grade (A = company/filing says so, D = little to go on)
2
tracked 2026 layoff events · latest Sep 1, 2026
718
workers counted

The receipts

Every tracked 2026 layoff at Bristol Myers Squibb, newest first. Scores are 0–100: how strongly the public evidence ties the cuts to AI. Sources are linked on each one.

6

Sep 1, 2026 · 265 in WARN notices (Company-wide total not disclosed)

AI score 6/100 (Minimal) · 80% interval 4–7 · evidence grade D · NJ · Pharmaceuticals

Stated reason: Third NJ notice of 2026 under the same $2 billion cost-savings restructuring (Feb 2025 to end of 2027); cuts run Dec 17, 2026 to May 21, 2027.

Why 6: Cost-cutting / efficiency · Drivers: industry AI exposure +0.5

Evidence: state WARN notice, major-outlet report. Signals: attribution 0.0, primary source 0.0, exec statement 0.0, role exposure 0.653, industry exposure 0.712, AI investment 0.0, contrary evidence 0.0 · typical Health Care & Pharma roles (no roles named)

Headcount basis: WARN (sum of state notices; company-wide total not disclosed) · WARN: 265 workers at 1 site notice(s)

Sources (3)
  • patch.com patch.com/new-jersey/princeton/major-nj-pharmaceutical-company-lays-hundreds
  • mercerme.com mercerme.com/bristol-myers-squibb-announces-another-265-layoffs-extending-cuts-i
  • nj.gov www.nj.gov/labor/assets/PDFs/WARN/2026_WARN_Notice_Archive.pdf
6

Feb 1, 2026 · 453 in WARN notices (Company-wide total not disclosed)

AI score 6/100 (Minimal) · 80% interval 4–7 · evidence grade D · NJ · Pharmaceuticals

Stated reason: Part of the restructuring Bristol Myers Squibb began in February 2025, targeting $2 billion in savings by the end of 2027, with part of the savings reinvested in drug development.

Why 6: Cost-cutting / efficiency · Drivers: industry AI exposure +0.5

Evidence: SEC filing, state WARN notice, major-outlet report. Signals: attribution 0.0, primary source 0.0, exec statement 0.0, role exposure 0.653, industry exposure 0.712, AI investment 0.0, contrary evidence 0.0 · typical Health Care & Pharma roles (no roles named)

Headcount basis: WARN (sum of state notices; company-wide total not disclosed) · WARN: 453 workers at 2 site notice(s)

Sources (5)
  • patch.com patch.com/new-jersey/princeton/major-nj-pharmaceutical-company-lays-hundreds
  • mercerme.com mercerme.com/bristol-myers-squibb-announces-another-265-layoffs-extending-cuts-i
  • biospace.com www.biospace.com/job-trends/q3-layoffs-down-yoy-with-90-fewer-biopharma-employee
  • sec.gov www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/14272/000001427226000010/a10q-bmyex10c_q126.htm
  • nj.gov www.nj.gov/labor/assets/PDFs/WARN/2026_WARN_Notice_Archive.pdf

Scores are evidence-based estimates from a published model, not findings that AI caused any layoff. Spot something wrong or missing? Tell us.

Related companies

Other Health Care & Pharma layoffs we track.

Search all 1,509 layoffs → All companies