Tracker › Companies › Origin Materials, Inc.

Did AI cause the Origin Materials, Inc. layoffs?

3 No sign of it. We found no public evidence tying Origin Materials, Inc.'s cuts to AI.

3/100
top AI score · 80% interval 2–4
D
evidence grade (A = company/filing says so, D = little to go on)
2
tracked 2026 layoff events · latest May 1, 2026
n/a
workers counted (2 event(s) without a disclosed headcount)

The receipts

Every tracked 2026 layoff at Origin Materials, Inc., newest first. Scores are 0–100: how strongly the public evidence ties the cuts to AI. Sources are linked on each one.

3

May 1, 2026 · Not stated in 8-K

AI score 3/100 (Minimal) · 80% interval 2–4 · evidence grade D · US · Pharma / Chemicals

Stated reason: On May 1, 2026, Origin Materials, Inc. (the “Company” or “Origin”) announced that its the Board of Directors (the “Board”) had approved the dissolution and liquidation of the Company pursuant to a plan of complete liquidation and dissolution (the “Plan of Dissolution”), subject to stockholder approval. Origin intends to call a special meeting of the stockholders to seek approval of the Plan of Dissolution and will fi…

Why 3: Plant, store or site closure · Drivers: contrary evidence −0.7, industry AI exposure +0.5

Evidence: SEC filing. Signals: attribution 0.0, primary source 0.0, exec statement 0.0, role exposure 0.761, industry exposure 0.712, AI investment 0.0, contrary evidence 0.4 · named roles: Computer and Information Systems Managers, General and Operations Managers

Headcount basis: not disclosed

Sources (2)
  • sec.gov www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1802457/000180245726000021/orgn-20260501.htm
  • sec.gov www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1802457/000180245726000023/orgn-20260331.htm
3

Feb 12, 2026 · Not stated in 8-K

AI score 3/100 (Minimal) · 80% interval 2–4 · evidence grade D · US · Pharma / Chemicals

Stated reason: On February 10, 2026, the Board of Directors of Origin Materials, Inc. (the “Company” or “Origin”) approved, and on February 11, 2026, the Company implemented, an organizational realignment to enhance its cash resources and reduce the amount of additional capital required to achieve cash-positive operations, while maintaining the required expertise and personnel to successfully launch its PET caps in 2026. The reorga…

Why 3: Plant, store or site closure · Drivers: contrary evidence −0.7, industry AI exposure +0.5

Evidence: SEC filing. Signals: attribution 0.0, primary source 0.0, exec statement 0.0, role exposure 0.761, industry exposure 0.712, AI investment 0.0, contrary evidence 0.4 · named roles: Computer and Information Systems Managers, General and Operations Managers

Headcount basis: not disclosed

Sources (2)
  • sec.gov www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1802457/000180245726000006/orgn-20260210.htm
  • sec.gov www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1802457/000180245726000017/orgn-20251231.htm

Scores are evidence-based estimates from a published model, not findings that AI caused any layoff. Spot something wrong or missing? Tell us.

Related companies

Other Health Care & Pharma layoffs we track.

Search all 1,509 layoffs → All companies